Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Surnatural Orchestra - Domino #2

the musician : Surnatural Orchestra
the tune : Domino #2
the artist : Yann Bagot

Monday, July 28, 2014

Gene Krupa - Sing, Sing, Sing

the musician : Gene Krupa
the tune : Sing, Sing, Sing
the artist : Tom Parsons

Friday, July 25, 2014

Chano Dominguez - Piano Iberico

the object: album cover
the artist: Chano Dominguez
the title: Piano Iberico
the designer: Unknown 
the date: 2009

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Herbie Hancock - Head Hunters

the musician : Herbie Hancock
the album : Head Hunters
the artist : Flower Moon Studio

And here is what Sophie has to say about this image and what it means, always nice to have some background info :
"Here's my image for jazz&draw. Being a fan of 60's counter culture I went with jazz fusion. If you're unfamiliar with jazz fusion here's a small background. It started in the late sixties with Miles Davis, he didn't like all the "hippy music" getting all the attention so he felt he had to move with the times, so he combined jazz instruments with electric instruments such as electric guitar & bass and synths. This created the new music genre known as fusion, other genres stemmed from this such as acid jazz, jazz rock, jazz funk, punk jazz and progressive rock. The names on the image are the bands that branched from jazz fusion."

Monday, July 21, 2014

Miles Davis - Birth of the cool

the musician : Miles Davis
the album : Birth of the cool
the artist : Nico 189

Friday, July 18, 2014

Monday, July 14, 2014

Diana Krall - Cry me a river

the musician : Diana Krall
the tune : Cry me a river
the artist : RJ Artworks

Friday, July 11, 2014

Masterpiece of Paula Scher

the object: masterpiece, tribute to the pioneers of the Russian avant garde
the designer: Paula Scher
the title: The best of jazz
the date: 1979

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Billie Holiday - Summertime

the musician : Billie Holiday
the tune : Summertime
the artist : Louis Joos